Comox Valley Minor Hockey Association Annual General Meeting Wednesday May 11, 2022 19 Wing Fitness and Community Center

Annual General Meeting called to order at 6:39 PM on May 11, 2021, with 33 members in attendance, 31 registered voting members and 2 guests.

Called to order

A review of the evenings Agenda and Housekeeping items brought forward by the registrar.

- Introduction of Officers from 2021-2022.
- Introduction of Life Time members, Iris Churchill, Darryl Barker and Ken McKenzie
- Introduced Directors Ken Gillis, Trevor Pritoula
- Special guest Karen Guinan to present financial statements

Motion: To adopt agenda as presented.

M/S: Iris Churchill/Luisa Perry

All in Favor

Motion: To accept the Annual General Meeting minutes of May 12, 2021 as presented. M/S: Tish Kristensen/Cam Knox All in Favor

Financial Report for March 2021 presented by MNP (Karen Guinan)

- Karen went through the financial statements by page and explained the pertinent and interesting lines.
- CVMHA received a loan of \$60 000 (COVID support) to be paid back if paid back by 2023 CVMHA will be able to keep \$20 000.
- Gaming fund \$100000 was spent for the purpose of ice funds for the hockey club.
- Referee costs have increased and will increase next year as mandated by VIAHA.
- \$4600 loss this year.

Motion: To accept the financial statements as presented by MNP Karen Guinan for the year-endMarch 31, 2022 year as presented.M/S: Tish Kristensen /Terra BrownAll in Favor

Motion: To waive the requirement for an audit for the next year-end March 31, 2023	
M/S: Ken Gillis/Iris Churchill	All in Favor

Motion: To have the annual membership fee remain at \$2.00 M/S: Iris Churchill /Lauri Neufeld All in Favor

Motion: To accept the Annual reports as provided M/S: Tish Kristensen /Terra Brown All in Favor

Recognitions:

Referee of the year: Carter McCallum Female player of the Year: Mia Thompson Player of the Year: Jace Parsons House coach of the Year: Bill Wright Rep Coach of the Year: Jeff Bruce Presidents Award: The Players of the Comox Valley U13 Tier 2 Team

Rebranding Committee: Trevor Pritoula, Simon Morgan, Terra Brown, Beth Matthews, Paul Ives, Dallas MacDonald, and Allan Gornall. Committee selected the name after narrowing down the submitted names from association members. Flyers name was submitted by Lou Gravel and Darryl Matthews. Ian Adams at Roam Media was instrumental in designing the logo. Found a hometown connection with the Flyers – Brent Flahr (Vice President and assistant GM) – former player with CVMHA. CVRD presented CVMHA with a \$20 000 grant to put towards the rebranding project.

Election of Officers

Facilitated by Life Member Iris Churchill

Assistant to the 1 st Vice Nominations to the Committee Nominations from the floor	Alan Gornall Elected Uncontested None
2 nd Vice President (1 Year Term)	
Nominations to the Committee	Luisa Perry Elected Uncontested
Nominations from the floor	None
Treasurer (1 Year Term)	
Nominations to the Committee	Terra Brown Elected Uncontested
Nominations from the floor	None
Director at large	
Nominations to the Committee	Ryan Tufnail – declared Director at Large, Cody King – declined nomination
Nominations from the floor	None

Simon motioned that the AGM be adjourned at 7:18 PM.

Lauri Neufeld – President

Simon Morgan – Register